Moonbase Alpha
A record of things.

The Bathroom Floor – An Ongoing Series

The iPhone has a lot to answer for.
For one thing, it has greatly extended the amount of time I spend on the toilet. This is clearly information you needed to know.

Tangentally related: One of the reasons I like having such a compact camera is that I can get it into places and angles I couldn’t normally.
Such as these.

I have taken to photographing the floors of various bathrooms. Partly to amuse myself while otherwise occupied, and partly because it’s not a view you often see. Unless you enjoy lying on the floor in strange bathrooms. I like the photos because it’s something I haven’t seen before, which is what I always try to do whenever I sack up and attempt ‘art’.

In fact, even I only get to see this as a picture, cause I’m certainly not crawling around to line up the shot.

…shut up. You do weirder stuff.

In order: Kathleen’s place, BC Ferry Queen of Vancouver, my bathroom at home & my old job at ICBC.

8 Responses to “The Bathroom Floor – An Ongoing Series”

  1. *clap clap clap*
    Stunning work Graham, stunning work.

    I like the way the bathroom scales compliments the positioning of the bucket/puke bucket/second toilet.

  2. The geomatric shapes clashing with everyday objects *slash* pop-art truly create a vision transcending the singleness of what’s pictured, and thereby producing an abstract both diverse and at one with itself, leaving the viewer breathless and longing for more.

    Also, don’t give up your day job 😉

  3. I’m obviously not trying for any actual art here, but what you said is something approximating the BS I’d probably try and use if I actually had to defend it as such.

  4. I have to say, the public ones are a lot cleaner than I’d have expected. No eye-watering wallpaper? No floods? Lucky you 😛
    …You know, this is probably the closest I’ll ever come to seeing the inside of a men’s room. Huh.

  5. Yeah, I’m reasonably good at BS 🙂 I’d like to hear your version though, haha

  6. So let me get this right… you put your iPhone in the floor of public/non-public bathrooms to take pictures, then you use it to call people?

    … Touching your face… like 1 inc from your mouth ? You are soo gona get salmonela.

  7. Alright Graham. As long as this is just a hobby….. lol

  8. Hi! Would you mind if I share your blog with my zynga group?
    There’s a lot of people that I think would really enjoy your content. Please let me know. Many thanks


Leave a Reply

